Inquiry into the Impact of Structural Changes in the Victorian Economy

Transcripts of Evidence - PDF versions

Click here to download Adobe Acrobat Reader To view these documents you will need Adobe Acrobat Reader. You can download this application for free by clicking on the image at the left.

Click on the links below to access a PDF version of the transcripts for the Inquiry into the Impact of Structural Changes in the Victorian Economy.



August 13 2001

  • Mr G. Ryan, Corporate Secretary; and Mr T. Stephens, National Manager, Financial Services, Retail Group, Australia Post
  • Professor L. Neilson, Secretary; Mr J. McMillan, Director of Public Transport; and Mr R. Kinnear, Director, Public Transport Planning, Office of the Director of Public Transport, Department of Infrastructure
  • Prof. L. Neilson, Secretary; Ms P. Digby, Executive Director, Local Government Division; and Mr J. Watson, Director, Governance and Legislation, Department of Infrastructure

August 22 2001

  • Mr P. Mees, President; andMs A. Morton, Vice-President, Public Transport Users Association
  • Mr A. Joseph, General Manager, Employment Division, Department of Education, Employment and Training

August_27 2001

  • Cr P. O’Rorke, Mayor; Mr. W. Braithwaite, Chief Executive Officer; and Mr I. Surridge, Manager, Rural City Development, Rural City of Ararat
  • WitnessMs A. Hunt, Ballarat Adult and Further Education Centre
  • Ms J. Wilson; Ms H. Fleming; Mr P. Strom, Willaura and District Community Development Group
  • Ms B. Healy, Knowledge Navigator, Ararat Community Enterprise Centre
  • Cr B. Dunn; and Mr P. Brown, Acting Chief Executive Officer, Horsham Rural City Council
  • Mr J. Ackland, General Manager, Workco Ltd
  • Mr P. Jones, Secretary, Wimmera-Mallee Rail Service Association
  • Mr P. Sabien, Executive Director, Wimmera Development Association
  • Mr G. Pilgrim, Managing Director, Australian Mower Company

August 28 2001

  • Cr B. Meyer, Mayor; Cr G. Carracher; Cr R. Hawkins;Cr W. Wait; Cr L. Guthridge; and Ms M. Amos, Economic Development Officer, Shire of West Wimmera
  • Mrs B. Mitchell, Secretary; and Ms C. Dines, Member, Goroke District Advancement Committee
  • Ms L. Powell, Kaniva Progress Association; and Ms J. Thring
  • Mr D. Hunt, President; and Ms M. Watt, Member, Harrow Promotion and Development Group
  • Mr M. Smith, President, Advance Edenhope
  • Ms M. Farrelly, Postmistress; and Ms K. Rainsford, Veterinarian
  • Mr G. Ussing, Westprint Maps Pty Ltd
  • Mr N. Jacobs, Chief Executive Officer; and Cr R. Gersch, Shire of Hindmarsh
  • Mr A. Graham, Mulhallen and Sons
  • Mr W. Manton, Small Business Operator
  • Mr R. Sherwell, Nhill Traders Association

August 29 2001

  • Cr D. Bell, Mayor; Cr K. Sleep; and Ms J. Tod, Chief Executive Officer, Shire of Yarriambiack
  • Mr D. Chesterfield, Manager, Rupanyup/Minyip Community Bank
  • Mrs J. Crow, Joint Proprietor, Warrack Taxis
  • Mr P. Haney
  • Ms S. Farnham, Manager, Workco Ltd
  • Mr S. Cornish, Chief Executive Officer; and Mr G. Gray, Economic Development and Tourism Officer, Shire of Pyrenees
  • Mr J. Moser, Vice-chairman, Bendigo Community Bank, Avoca
  • Mr P. McAloon, Executive Officer, Greater Green Triangle Area Consultative Committee
  • Mr A. Gray, Chairman, Dunolly Rural Transaction Centre



September 3 2001

  • Mr B. Carolan, Commercial Director, National Express Group (Australia)
  • Ms S. Ross, Area Manager, Area North Central Victoria; Mr T. Green, Business Manager, Area North Central Victoria; Mr M. Dullard, Business Manager, Area West Victoria; and Ms D. Major, Customer Segment Leader, Youth and Student Services, Area South East Victoria, Centrelink.

September 11 2001

  • Cr A. Aird;Cr J. Letchford; and Ms A. McLennan, Acting Director, Community Services, Shire of Macedon Ranges
  • Mr S. Thompson, Lancefield Post Office
  • Mr I. Alexander, Manager, Lancefield Community Bank
  • Ms J. Casey, Coordinator, Cobaw Community Health Service
  • Ms J. Smith, Financial Counsellor, St Luke’s Anglicare
  • Ms F. Mackintosh; and Mr K. Notman, Lancefield Business and Tourism Association

September 12 2001

  • Mr P. McKenzie, Manager, Aged Care and Disability Services, Campaspe Shire Council
  • Mr B. Holschier, Stanhope Chamber of Commerce and Industry
  • Mr P. Hodson, Owner/Manager, Jbek Employment
  • Ms S. Curtis, Secretary, Tongala and District Advisory Group
  • Ms C. Pearson; and Ms K. Hall, Corop Community Action Group
  • Mr P. Anderson, Rochester Chamber of Commerce and Industry; Ms T. Shearer, Elmore Probus Association; and Ms J. Pellas, Rochester and Elmore District Health Service
  • Mr R. Herbert, President, Tongala Community Bank
  • Mr P. Virgona, Heathcote Tourism and Development; and Mr J. Hicks, Visitor Information Centre
  • Mr J. Marshall, Bus Proprietor, Heathcote


October 1 2001

  • Mr J. Costello, Chief Executive Officer; and Mr D. Gallagher, Technical Services Manager, Shire of Indigo
  • Mr R. Ambrose, Rutherglen Chamber of Commerce
  • Mr M. Mack, Corporate Development Manager; and Ms E. Ashton, Community Development Manager, WAW Credit Union
  • Ms B. Murdoch, IGA Supermarket, Chiltern

October 24 2001

  • Cr J. Hansen, President; and Cr A. Rowe, Member, Victorian Local Governance Association.



November 19 2001

  • Mr N. Armstrong, Chief Executive Officer, Local Government Professionals
  • WitnessCr R. Larocca, Mayor, City of Moreland
  • Mr R. Lomdahl, Director of Public Affairs; Mr C. Doody, Area General Manager, South-West Victoria; and Mr G. Wiltshire, Victorian Account Director, Telstra Country Wide

November 26 2001

  • Mr Geoff Hill, Economic Development Manager; and Ms Robyn Cooney, Manager, Shire Development - South Gippsland Shire Council
  • Mr Ken Thomas, General Manager, Murray Goulburn; and Mr Graeme Wilson, Windy Ridge Winery - Prom Country Advisory Board
  • Mr Trevor Rickard, Korumburra Business Association


December 3 2001

  • Mr R. Spence, Chief Executive Officer; and Mr T. Koops, Senior Economist, Municipal Association of Victoria

December 12 2001

  • Mr D. deVrieze, Manager, Regional Equity Market, Bendigo Bank
  • Dr G. Byrne, School of Business and Technology; and Mr I. Pinge, Centre for Sustainable Regional Communities, La Trobe University, Bendigo
  • Ms B. Brooks, Central Victoria Area Consultative Committee
  • Cr S. McLean; Cr J. Corrie;Mr M. Amirtharajah, Acting Chief Executive Officer; and Mr G. Harris, Manager, Economic Development, Shire of Buloke