Parliamentary rule changes adopted

Victorian Parliament House

New sessional orders have been adopted for the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council.

They are the rules that will operate during the life of the 58th Parliament.

Question Time has been changed in both chambers, with only non-government members able to ask questions without notice.

Ministers will now be able to make ministers' statements of up to two minutes per statement.

At the end of question time, members may ask ministers a question relating to a constituency matter.

In the Assembly, time limits have been imposed on questions without notice, with one minute allowed for questions and three minutes for answers to the initial question and one minute for answers to supplementary questions.

Sitting times have also changed, with the Assembly to start at 12 noon on Tuesdays and 9:30 am on Wednesdays and Thursdays. Question Time in the Assembly will be held at 11 am on Wednesdays and Thursdays.

For the Legislative Council, further sessional orders are due to be considered during the sittings of 24-26 February.

The Legislative Assembly sessional orders are available here and the Legislative Council sessional orders are available here.

To get news alerts from the Victorian Parliament email

See more news from the Parliament of Victoria