New Assembly member sworn in

Danny OBrien

The Legislative Assembly's newest member has been sworn in.

Danny O’Brien has taken his seat as the Member for Gippsland South following the 14 March by-election in the regional electorate.

The by-election was brought about by the resignation of Peter Ryan.

Mr O’Brien vacated his seat in the Legislative Council to contest the by-election.

A joint sitting of Parliament will be held to fill the vacant Legislative Council seat for Eastern Victoria.

The joint sitting must select a nominee from the political party of the member who vacated the seat. Mr O’Brien is a member of The Nationals.

See more news from the Parliament of Victoria