Youth Parliament 2015 opened


The 2015 YMCA Victoria Youth Parliament has been opened at Parliament House in Melbourne.

Celebrating its 29th anniversary, the Youth Parliament is being held from 29 June to 2 July, with more than 100 participants from metropolitan and regional areas.

President of the Legislative Council Bruce Atkinson and Deputy Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Don Nardella welcomed the youth representatives to Parliament House, where the debates are being held during the week.

President welcomes youth

President of the Legislative Council Bruce Atkinson welcomed delegates to Youth Parliament 2015

The 2015 Youth Governor, Ms Senada Aldobasic, officially opened the Youth Parliament, with the ceremony based on parliament’s actual opening ceremony.

The Youth Parliament opening included an Acknowledgment of Country by Aunty Di Kerr as well as speeches by the Minister for Youth Affairs Jenny Mikakos, Opposition Leader Matthew Guy and YMCA Victoria Board Chair Anthea Hancocks.

Acknowledgment of country

Acknowledgment of Country by Aunty Di Kerr

Opening Youth Parliament

Official opening of Youth Parliament 2015 by Youth Governor, Ms Senada Aldobasic

Issues to be debated at the Youth Parliament include youth mental health; youth representation on local councils; factoring carbon dioxide emissions into vehicle registration; the mandatory teaching of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history; and increased opportunities for homeless youth.

The Youth Parliament aims to provide young people with a state forum to express their views on matters of concern to them.

At the conclusion of the debates, the state government will be provided with ‘Bills’ expressing the concerns and expectations of youth that the government could act upon.

Youth Affairs Minister

Minister for Youth Affairs Jenny Mikakos addressed youth representatives at the opening

Opposition Leader

Opposition Leader Matthew Guy also spoke at the opening

See more news from the Parliament of Victoria