Acknowledgment of Country at start of sittings

Aboriginal Flag

The Legislative Assembly has agreed to a motion authorising the Speaker to make an Acknowledgment of Country at the start of each sitting week from February 2016.

The Acknowledgment of Country will be made on the Tuesday of sitting weeks.

It is a way of showing respect for the traditional custodians of the land on which parliament meets and of recognising the continuing relationship of Indigenous peoples with their Country.

The motion was moved by the Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Natalie Hutchins, and supported by the Shadow Minister for Aboriginal Affairs, Heidi Victoria. The Member for Dandenong, Gabrielle Williams, the Member for Gippsland East, Tim Bull, the Member for Eltham, Vicki Ward, and the Member for Melbourne, Ellen Sandell, also spoke in support of the motion.

It was passed unanimously by the Legislative Assembly.

It is the latest step on the road to reconciliation.

In September, the Australian Aboriginal Flag was raised to the top of Parliament House to fly permanently alongside the Australian and Victorian Flags.

See more news from the Parliament of Victoria