Parliament Prize awarded

Parliament Prize 2016The Parliament Prize awards have been presented at Parliament House to students from three schools.

First place was awarded to Kiara van Hout from Ivanhoe Girls' Grammar School; second prize to Oscar Levi from Whitefriars College; and third prize to Michael Pearce from Melbourne High School.

This year’s competition asked students to write an essay on the topic: If parliament is the people’s house, what makes it relevant to generation next?

The awards were presented by the competition judges: Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Telmo Languiller; President of the Legislative Council Bruce Atkinson; and Member of the Legislative Council for Eastern Victoria, Melina Bath.

The winning entries are available on the Parliament Prize webpage.

To join our mailing list for information on next year’s Parliament Prize competition email


2016 Parliament Prize winners and competition judges.


See more news from the Parliament of Victoria