Community achievers recognised

CommunityAchievers web1Sixteen Victorians today received Community Achiever Awards at a ceremony held at Parliament House.

Presented by the Victorian Parliament’s Presiding Officers, the awards recognise significant contributions made by supported employees working in social enterprises across Victoria.

Nominated by the CEOs of their organisations, the award recipients are:

  • James Williamson and Ebony Watson (Ability Works)
  • Mitchell Kent and Brandon Stoer (Knoxbrooke)
  • Johnny Beddard and Andrew Schiffman (Latrobe Valley Enterprises)
  • Dee-Jay Downes and Zam Khan Khai Chongloi (Mambourin)
  • Jacob Grogan and Malcolm Craig (Merriwa Industries)
  • Jordan Green and Estelle Synaphet (Nadrasca Industry)
  • Mark Ruddy and Chris Slattery (OC Connections)
  • Thomas O’Brien and Ashleigh Allen (Outlook)

CommunityAchievers web2

“Through their efforts at work and their volunteering these community achievers are helping to build better workplaces and stronger local communities,” said President of the Legislative Council Shaun Leane.

With these awards we say thank you,” he said.

The Community Achiever Awards also acknowledge the social enterprises that employ and support the award recipients, all of whom are living with a disability.

“These social enterprises provide people with meaningful employment and valuable social connections,” said Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Colin Brooks.

“With these awards we also pay tribute to the dedicated staff and senior management at these organisations as they are helping to create a more inclusive community,” he said.

Award winners were presented with a Community Achiever trophy and were joined by their families and work colleagues. The event was streamed live on Facebook so that people across the state could watch the ceremony.


Photography: Vicki Jones Photography

 See more news from the Parliament of Victoria