Architecture awards for Parliament's Annexe

Parliament's annexeThe Parliament of Victoria Members’ Annexe designed by Peter Elliott Architecture + Urban Design has won five of the 2019 Victorian Architecture Awards.

The awards were presented by the Australian Institute of Architects Victorian Chapter at a ceremony held on Friday 28 June.

Read more ...

Address-in-Reply presented to Governor

the Governor of Victoria the Honourable Linda Dessau ACThe Address-in-Reply has been presented to the Governor of Victoria, the Honourable Linda Dessau AC at a ceremony held on Monday 24 June 2019 at Government House.

On behalf of each house of the Victorian Parliament, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly Colin Brooks and President of the Legislative Council Shaun Leane made the presentation, accompanied by Members of Parliament and parliamentary staff.

Read more ...

Medal for parliamentary service

Tunnecliffe Wayne LC 1After a 48-year career in Victoria’s parliamentary service, Wayne Tunnecliffe has been awarded a Public Service Medal.

The award was announced in the Queen’s Birthday Honours for 2019.

Read more ...

2019-20 budget presented to parliament

State Budget 2019Treasurer Tim Pallas has presented Victoria’s 2019–20 state budget to parliament. It is the fifth budget for the Andrews Government.

The budget papers include the Appropriation (2019–2020) Bill 2019 and the Treasurer’s budget speech.

Read more ...

Whips join forces for learning workshop

Fiji Whips workshopMPs from Victoria, New Zealand and Fiji have shared insights and experience at a workshop held at Parliament House in Melbourne.

Focusing on the multifaceted role of parliamentary whips, the workshop was arranged by the Victorian Parliament and the United Nations Development Programme, with support from Australia’s Department of Foreign Affairs and Trade.

Read more ...