Parliament Prize awards presented

ParliamentPrize newsthumbThe winners of the 2018 Parliament Prize competition have received their awards at Parliament House.

The President of the Legislative Council Bruce Atkinson and the Member for Eastern Victoria Melina Bath presented the awards to the winning students.

Read more ...

University debaters in Democracy Day challenge

Monashdebating newsthumbInternational Day of Democracy was celebrated at Parliament House with a community day and debating competition.

Three university debating teams and a team of parliamentary staff competed for the Democracy Day trophy.

Read more ...

Democracy Day Forum at Parliament House

DemocracyForum newsthumbMulticultural community leaders were welcomed to Parliament House for a forum to coincide with International Day of Democracy.

Chaired jointly by the President of the Legislative Council Bruce Atkinson and the Chairperson of the Victorian Multicultural Commission Helen Kapalos, the forum brought together a diverse range of leaders for a discussion on how parliament can grow its engagement with Victoria’s multicultural community.

Read more ...

Global warning at Deakin Oration

Dr Tilman Ruff AMThe catastrophic consequences for the world from any use of nuclear weapons were spelled out in detail at the 2018 Deakin Oration held at Parliament House.

Hosted by the Victorian Parliament’s Presiding Officers, this year’s oration was presented by Dr Tilman Ruff, an associate professor at the University of Melbourne and founding co-chair of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), which won the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize.

Read more ...

Governor opens new Annexe

The Governor of Victoria, the Hon. Linda Dessau ACThe evolution of Parliament House continued today with the official opening of our new Annexe by the Governor of Victoria, the Hon. Linda Dessau AC.

Built over a two year period and coming in on budget, the Parliament House Annexe provides much needed office space for parliamentarians and replaces temporary offices that had passed their use by date.

Read more ...