Donation to assist Tongan Parliament's recovery

Parliament staff packing laptops for the Parliament of TongaIn the wake of Cyclone Gita and the destruction of Tonga’s historic parliament building, the Victorian Parliament is donating computer equipment to assist the recovery.

The computer equipment is being sent to Tonga this week to enable the Parliament to undertake its sittings in March.

Read more ...

New MLC sworn in

Ms Huong TruongMs Huong Truong was today sworn in as a Member of the Legislative Council for the Western Metropolitan region.

Ms Truong is a member of the Victorian Greens and was appointed to the position of MLC at a joint sitting of the Legislative Council and Legislative Assembly held on 21 February 2018.

Read more ...

Medal for dedicated service

Previous Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Ray PurdeyPrevious Clerk of the Legislative Assembly, Ray Purdey has been awarded a Public Service Medal in the 2018 Australia Day Honours.

The medal recognises his dedicated service to Parliament during a career spanning 43 years.

Read more ...

2017 parliamentary interns graduate

Professor Paul Strangio speaking at the 2017 Parliamentary internship graduation ceremony. Students from five universities have graduated from our parliamentary internship program this year.

Legislative Council President Bruce Atkinson and Legislative Assembly Deputy Speaker Maree Edwards presented the interns with their graduation certificates during a ceremony held at Parliament House.

Read more ...

New MP sworn in

Lidia ThorpeLidia Thorpe was today sworn in as the Member for Northcote in the Legislative Assembly.

Ms Thorpe is a member of The Greens and won the seat in a by-election.

Read more ...