Back to previous page

Image of Kenneth Alastair Coghill

Kenneth Alastair Coghill

Colin, farm manager, and Mary Evans, school teacher

Marital Status: 1: 4 September 1969 Judith Anne Wakeman, school teacher; 1s. 1d. (divorced 2007). 2: 1 December 2008 Julia Thornton.

Whittlesea State School, Mansfield Higher Elementary School, Caulfield Grammar School, Melbourne University, BVSc 1967. Monash University, PhD 1999.


District Veterinary Officer, Department of Agriculture, Wodonga, 1968-77; Rural City of Wodonga Councillor 1972-77. 

Albury-Wodonga Interim Consultative Committee 1973-1976, Albury-Wodonga Consultative Council 1974-77; President, Veterinary Officers' Group Victorian Public Service Association 1976-79; in charge of Animal Health Publications and extension Department of Agriculture, Melbourne 1977-79; former member Community Radio Federation-3CR, Society for Growing Australian Plants, Werribee Community Health Centre, Powderkeg Players 1979-88. Co-Director, Parliamentary Studies Unit, Monash University since 2001. Victorian Chapter Constitutional Centenary Foundation 1991-2000. Convenor, Victorian Chapter Australasian Study of Parliament Group since 1990. Adjunct Professor, Deakin University 2000-2005.

Committee member, Alliance for Reform and Democracy in Asia 2000-03. President (1999-2000), Secretary (2001), member 1992-2005, Lions Club City of Melbourne (Host) Incorporated. Honourary Research Co-ordinator, Commonwealth Parliamentary Association since 2000. Senior Research Fellow & Associate Director, Mt Eliza Business School, Monash University 1996-2000; Department of Management, Monash University 2001- (Associate Professor since 2007). Co-Director, Parliamentary Studies Unit, Monash University since 2001. Director, Governance Research Unit, Monash University 2001-15; Director, Governance & Public Management Research Interest Group 2015-.


Wodonga City Councillor 1972-1977
Australian Labor Party
HouseElectorateStart End
Legislative AssemblyWerribee5 May 197929 March 1996Retired

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.
Inaugural Speech

Speaker 1988-92
Parliamentary Secretary of the Cabinet 1982-1988
Printing Committee 1979-1982

Benambra 1976



References: Who's Who in Australia 1980-1983; Victorian Parliamentary Handbook; Western Suburbs Advertiser 10 May, 23 May 1979; personal information.

Data Source: Browne, G, 'Biographical Register of the Victorian Parliament 1900-84', 1985

Last updated: 14th February 2019