Back to previous page

Image of Alan John Hunt

Alan John Hunt ( Twice recipient of Town & Country Planning Assoc. annual award "for notable contribution to planning" and once recipient of similar award from Victorian Planning and Environmental Law Assoc.; AM 1992.)

09 October 1927 (Peterborough, South Australia)
19 July 2013
Robert H., Salvation Army and Methodist minister of religion, and Evelyn Christina Luxton

Marital Status: (1) 1951; 4s.; (2) 9 May 1964 Kathinka Forster nee Grant; 1s.

Renmark, South Walk, St Morris State Schools, South Australia; Hawksburn and Canterbury State Schools, Mont Albert Central School, Melbourne Grammar School; Melbourne University, LLB.


Secretary National Union of Australian University Students and delegate to World University Service conference, Bombay 1950; solicitor Melbourne 1951-1954, from 1954 senior partner Frost & Hunt, Mornington, later Hunt, O'Sullivan & Daniels; before parl. president Mornington APEX and Peninsula Regional committee Spastic Children's Society 1958-1960, chairman Mornington Shire Council Rail Service Advisory committee, member Vic. committee Miss Australia Quest; member Mornington High School Council 1956-1971; honorary solicitor various local organisations.  Solicitor, Deacons Melbourne 1992-97. Senior Fellow, Governance & Government Unit Monash University. Chairman, Good Governance Panel for Local Government 1998-99. Commissioner, Constitution Commission Victoria 2001-2. Board, International Diabetes Institute 1993-2001. Honorary Fellow, Australian Institute of Urban Studies, Victorian Planning & Environmental Law Assoc and Royal Australian Planning Institute.  Commissioners Inquiry into the Shire of Strathfieldsaye 1993. Member, Constitutional Commission 2001-2002.

Honorary member, Local Government Professionals Assoc. and Institute of Municipal Management.
Liberal and Country Party
Liberal Party
HouseElectorateStart End
Legislative CouncilSouth Eastern15 July 19612 October 1992

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.
Inaugural Speech

Last updated: 7th May 2019