Back to previous page

Image of David John Lea

David John Lea

04 July 1935 (Stourbridge, Worcestershire, England, England)
17 January 2021
Sidney Lea, Managing Director and Winifred (Greaves) Secretary. Arrived in Melbourne from Birmingham England 1948.

Religion: Church of England

Marital Status: (1) Margaret Hooper 1967-1975 1s, 1d. (2) Tanya Scott 1978-2013 (Dec.) (3) Mary Kane 2014-

Solihull Grammar School, England 1946-48. Melbourne High School 1949-1952. BA 1957, DipEd 1958, BEd 1966 (The University of Melbourne.) M.Ed 1990 (The University of Melbourne). Sport involvement: Captain, Melbourne University soccer team 1956-59, University Blue soccer 1957, Member Australian Universities soccer team 1957.

Head, Dept. of English technical schools 1959-69. English examiner, technical schools 1966-67. Vice principal, technical schools 1970-74. Visiting lecturer education, Hawthorn IAE and University of Melbourne 1978-82. Principal, technical schools and TAFE colleges 1975-85. Principal, Secondary Schools 1992. Member: Aust. Institute of Company Directors; Australian College of Education and Commonwealth Council of Education Administration; Fellow, Aust. Institute of Management; Life Member, Old Silhillians England; Life Member, Melbourne High School Old Boys; Life Member, Melbourne Graduate Untion; Life Member, Old Mentonians Cricket Club.

Principal, Technical Schools and TAFE Colleges.

Liberal Party
HouseElectorateStart End
Legislative AssemblySandringham2 March 19852 October 1992Resigned after being preselected for 1992 election.

*The Start date for Members elected after 1900 is the date they were elected. The start date for pre-1900 Members is the date they were sworn in.
Parliamentary representative, La Trobe University Council 1985-87
Chairman, La Trobe University Welfare Cttee 1986-87
Member, Legal and Constitutional Cttee 1985-92
Parliamentary Representative, Vic
Curriculum and Assessment Board 1989-92

References: Victorian Parliamentary Handbook.

Data Source: Victorian Parliamentary Handbook, 51st Parliament

Last updated: 19th January 2021