The Parliamentary System

The Parliament of Victoria is made up of the Crown, the Legislative Council and the Legislative Assembly.

The Crown means the Queen. In Victoria, the Queen is represented by the Governor.

The Legislative Council is sometimes referred to as the upper House and the Legislative Assembly is sometimes called the lower House. The terms 'House', 'Chamber' and 'legislature' are often used interchangeably to refer to either the Legislative Council or the Legislative Assembly. Sometimes we shorten the names to the Council and the Assembly.

In Australia we have three levels of Government: federal, state and local. The Parliament of Victoria is the state parliament and makes laws for the State of Victoria.

The Government is formed by the party that has the most number of seats in the Legislative Assembly. The leader of that party becomes the Premier of Victoria.

Elections are usually held in Victoria every four years on the last Saturday in November.

Read this section to find out more about our Parliamentary system including:

  • Parliament's role
  • Three levels of Government
  • The Constitution
  • Symbols
  • The Electorial process
  • Representation in Parliament
  • Parties & Factions.