Legislative Council Committees

In the 59th Parliament, the Legislative Council has two domestic committees and three standing committees. 

Domestic committees -

Domestic committees are internal committees and deal with Parliament's procedures and administration.  Domestic committees meet privately and usually do not ask for submissions or hold public hearings.

Standing committees -

Standing committees are appointed for the life of a Parliamentary term and are made up of members of one House. Standing Committees may have broad terms of reference and can conduct multiple inquiries on various topics, often at the same time.

For more information see the Council information sheet on committees.