International Representation

International Represenation

2010 - 2011

  • None to date

Former Presidents

19 December 2018 - 18 June 2020

LQD 2655 LEANE SHAUN 59 Hon. Shaun Leane
21 December 2010 - 18 December 2018 AtkinsonBruceNorman 4

Bruce Atkinson

19 December 2006 - 20 December 2010 smith

Hon. Robert Smith

25 February 2003 - 18 December 2006 GouldMonica Hon. Monica Gould
27 October 1992 - 24 February 2003 chamberlain Hon. Bruce Chamberlain, AM
25 October 1988 - 26 October 1992 hunt Hon. Alan Hunt, AM
16 July 1985 - 24 October 1988 mackenzie Hon. Roderick Mackenzie, OAM
18 July 1979 - 15 July 1985 grimwade Hon. Frederick Grimwade, AO
29 June 1976 - July 1979 fry Hon. Sir William Fry
20 February 1968 - June 1976 garrett Hon. Sir Raymond Garrett, AFG, AEA
14 September 1965 - 12 February 1968 mack Hon. Sir Ronald Mack
8 July 1958 - 10 August 1965 mcarthur Hon. Sir Gordon McArthur
9 June 1943 - June 1958 eager Hon. Sir Clifden Eager, KBE, QC
29 August 1923 - June 1943 clarke Hon. Sir Francis Clarke, KBE
8 July 1919 - 28 August 1923 manifold Hon. Sir Walter Manifold
6 July 1910 - June 1919 davies Hon. Sir John Davies, KCMG
18 June 1901 - 28 June 1910 wrixon Hon. Sir Henry Wrixon, KCMG, KC
10 November 1892 - May 1901 zeal Hon. Sir William Zeal, KCMG
27 November 1884 - 8 November 1892 macbain Hon. Sir James MacBain, KCMG
27 October 1870 - 24 November 1884 mitchell Hon. Sir William Mitchell
21 November 1856 - September 1870 palmer Hon. Sir James Palmer


Role of the President

The President is a Member of the Legislative Council, which is the "Upper House" in the Parliament of Victoria, equivalent to a State Senate in the United States of America.

The President is equivalent to a "Ministerial head" of the Department of the Legislative Council and is responsible for the oversight of its general administration.

The President represents the Legislative Council in official dealings with other Parliaments (both domestic and international) and other organisations. They assume important ceremonial responsibilities, and is jointly responsible with the Speaker for the oversight of the administration of the Parliament, Parliament House and the joint investigatory committees. 

The President is also referred to as the Presiding Officer of the Legislative Council, as they preside over meetings of the Legislative Council (except when the House is in Committee) and is responsible for maintaining order in the Council.

The President ensures that votes and proceedings in the Chamber are conducted in accordance with constitutional and statutory requirements, and the Standing Orders (rules of procedure and debate) and practices of the Council.

As Presiding Officer in the Council, the President acts as its Chairperson and makes rulings on a wide variety of matters affecting the operation of the Chamber. 

Presiding Officers should strive to demonstrate impartiality. Regardless of any political affiliations the Presiding Officer must be seen to act in a fair and impartial manner to all Members of the House.


Election of the President

The Standing Orders require an election to be held at every opening of Parliament for the office of President. The election, conducted by the Clerk, involves Members nominating candidates. Each nomination must be seconded and the nominee must also accept the nomination.

If one Member only is nominated and seconded as President, the nominee is deemed to have been duly elected and is escorted to the Chair. When more than one Member is nominated and seconded an open vote is held. The open vote requires the Clerk to announce the name of each candidate in turn and ask Members who support the candidate to stand in their place. All Members in the Chamber must vote, but are only entitled to vote once. The candidate with the most votes is elected President.

Once elected, the President acknowledges to the Council the honour conferred upon him or her and then takes the Chair. Immediately after the election of the President, the Council elects a Deputy President.

Before proceeding to any other business, the President announces that he or she, along with any other Members that wish to accompany the President, will present himself, or herself, to the Governor of Victoria as the choice of the Council as their President. The President subsequently presents himself or herself to the Governor in the Parliamentary Library and in turn presents all the members and Senior Officers of the Council to the Governor.


About the President

The President of the Legislative Council

Nazih Elasmar, Member for the Northern Metropolitan Region, is the 22nd President of the Legislative Council. 

He has been a Member of the Legislative Council since 2006.

He has served as President since 18 June 2020.

Biographical information on the Hon Nazih Elasmar is available from his parliamentary webpage.