Inquiry into access to TAFE for learners with disability

Hearings and Transcripts

Public Hearing Schedule

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this Inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available. Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee.

Tuesday 11 May 2021

Via Zoom

Time Witness Transcripts 


9:30 am

Dear Dyslexic
Submission 32
Ms Shae Wissell
Chief Executive Officer, Executive Director and Founder
Dr Judith Hudson
Non-Executive Director
Ms Christine MacJouvelet

pdfTranscript127.39 KB

docxTranscript (Word)53.34 KB

9:50 am

Ms Gina Chinnery
Associate Director, Employment and Education Partnerships

pdfTranscript154.75 KB

docxTranscript (Word)50.91 KB


pdfResponse to questions taken on notice3.38 MB


10:20 am

Australian Network on Disability
Ms Amy Whalley
Acting Chief Executive Officer

pdfTranscript129.63 KB

docxTranscript (Word)50.94 KB

10:50 am Mr Gabriel Gervasoni
TAFE student
Submission 20

pdfTranscript124.41 KB

docxTranscript (Word)51.78 KB

11:30 am Mission Australia
Submission 28
Ms Michele Leonard
Victorian State Leader
Mr Troy Crellin
Manager Social Enterprise Programs

pdfTranscript136.57 KB

docxTranscript (Word)55.20 KB

12:00 pm Amaze
Submission 35
Ms Nicole Rees
Deputy Chief Executive Officer and Executive Manager, Policy and Advocacy
Ms Katie Koullas
Chief Executive Officer, Yellow Lady Bugs and former TAFE teacher
Ms Jan Davis
Architect and Leader work-based training intiatives for students
Ms Rebecca Hope
TAFE graduate 
Aspergers Victoria
Submission 33
Ms Tamsin Jowett
Mr Kyal Kay
I CAN Network member
Mr Thomas Quine

pdfTranscript183.45 KB

docxTranscript (Word)64.16 KB


pdfPresentation230.64 KB

12:45 pm Australian Catholic University Autism Inclusion Project
Professor Sandra Jones
Pro Vice-Chancellor, Engagement

pdfTranscript125.56 KB

docxTranscript (Word)48.98 KB

1:30 pm Children and Young People with Disability Australia
Submission 21
Ms Maeve Kennedy
Policy and Program Manager
Ms Miranda Cross
Policy Officer
pdfTranscript158.58 KB

docxTranscript (Word)57.07 KB
2:15 pm Ballarat Specialist School
Ms Karen Biggelaar

pdfTranscript126.61 KB

docxTranscript (Word)49.24 KB

2:45pm Deaf Victoria
Submission 19
Ms Catherine Dunn
Individual Advocacy Officer
Ms Olivia Beasley
Board member and Educational Sub-Committee member

pdfTranscript142.35 KB

docxTranscript (Word)57.25 KB


Friday 12 March 2021

 Time  Witness  Transcripts
10:00 am

Vision Australia
Submission 26
Mr Bruce Maguire
Lead Policy Adviser
Mr Chris Edwards 
Manager, Government Relations and Advocacy

pdfTranscript134.39 KB

docxTranscript (Word)58.06 KB


10:35 am

Victorian TAFE Association
Submission 31
Mr Jeremy Irvine
Executive Director
Ms Pam Jonas
Senior Adviser
Mr Dan Mabilia
Director, Policy and Advocacy

pdfTranscript146.57 KB

docxTranscript (Word)66.74 KB

11:20 am

Bendigo Kangan Institute
Submission 36
Mr Hemant Kokularupan
Manager, Student Success

The Gordon
Submission 37
Mr Joe Ormeno
Chief Executive Officer
Ms Tracey Jeffery
Manager, Careers and Training Services
Mr Robbie Johnstone
Senior Strategic Business Analyst

Melbourne Polytechnic
Submission 38
Ms Frances Coppolillo
Chief Executive
Ms Cathy Frazer
Executive Director, Student Engagement, International and Community Partnerships

pdfTranscript156.39 KB

docxTranscript (Word)65.60 KB

12:15 pm

Dual sector providers
Victoria University Polytechnic
Submission 14
Ms Dianne Semmens
Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Vocational Education and Pathways)

Swinburne University of Technology
Submission 25
Associate Professor Nadine Zacharias
Director, Student Engagement
Ms Jill Slater
Manager, Community Service Funded Initiatives

Federation University
Submission 34
Ms Heather Marsh
Manager, Equity and Diversity
Mr Drew Burns
Coordinator, Disability Services

pdfTranscript257.80 KB

docxTranscript (Word)74.04 KB

1:00 pm

Victorian Aboriginal Education Association Incorporated
Mr Lionel Bamblett
General Manager
Mr Woody Eke
Senior Policy Officer, TAFE and Higher Education Unit

pdfTranscript168.07 KB

docxTranscript (Word)57.73 KB

pdfPresentation1.03 MB


Wednesday 10 March 2021

 Time  Witness  Transcripts
9:30 am

Victorian Trades Hall Council
Submission 16 
Attachment 1
Dr Carina Garland
Assistant Secretary

pdfTranscript131.6 KB

docxTranscript (Word)49.42 KB

10:00 am

Australian Education Union, Victorian Branch
Submission 24
Ms Meredith Peace
Mr Justin Mullaly

Deputy President
Mr Justin Bowd
Research Officer

pdfTranscript143.27 KB

docxTranscript (Word)55.37 KB

pdfResponse to questions taken on notice159.19 KB

10:35 am

Victorian Council of Social Service
Submission 29
Ms Emma King
Chief Executive Officer
Ms Deborah Fewster
Manager, Advocacy and Engagement
Ms Emily Barter
Manager, Workforce and Industry Development

pdfTranscript166.30 KB

docxTranscript (Word)63.51 KB

11:20 am

National Disability Services
Submission 9
Ms Michelle Wakeford
National Ticket to Work Manager
Dr William Crisp
Ticket to Work Policy and Project Officer

pdfTranscript135.1 KB

docxTranscript (Word)56.5 KB

mp4Video presentation50.34 MB

12:15 pm

Ethnic Communities’ Council of Victoria
Submission 15
Mr Chris Christoforou
Executive Officer
Mr Eddie Micallef

pdfTranscript134.58 KB

docxTranscript (Word)52.13 KB

12:45 pm

Department of Education and Training
Submission 13
Ms Lee Watts
Acting Deputy Secretary, Higher Education and Skills
Mr Phil D’Adamo
Executive Director, TAFE and Tertiary Institutions

pdfTranscript176.69 KB

docxTranscript (Word)52.64 KB

pdfResponse to questions taken on notice186.81 KB


Monday 7 December 2020

 Time  Witness  Transcripts
12:00 pm

Brotherhood of St Laurence
Submission 23
Ms Kira Clarke
Senior Research Fellow, Youth Opportunities Team, Brotherhood of St Laurence
Ms Joanne Stevenson 
TAFE student
Ms Helen Watkins
Head of Professional Studies, Sunraysia Institute of TAFE

pdfTranscript150.35 KB

docxTranscript (Word)56.05 KB

pdfResponse to questions taken on notice185.87 KB

12:50 pm

Adult and Community Education Victoria (ACEVic), Neighbourhood Houses Victoria (NHV) and Adult Learning Australia (ALA)
Submission 17
Ms Tamsin Rossiter
Executive Officer, Adult and Community Education Victoria
Ms Nicole Battle
Chief Executive Officer, Neighbourhood Houses Victoria
Ms Jenny Macaffer
Chief Executive Officer, Adult Learning Australia

pdfTranscript181.23 KB

docxTranscript (Word)55.25 KB

1:40 pm

Victorian Local Learning and Employment Networks and Inner Northern LLEN
Submission 8
Mr Peter Kellock
Coordinator, Research and Projects, Inner Northern LLEN
Mr David Kennedy
Executive Officer, Inner Northern LLEN
Mr Trent McCarthy
Chair, Victorian Local Learning and Employment Networks

pdfTranscript144.38 KB

docxTranscript (Word)57.19 KB

pdfResponse to questions taken on notice249.99 KB

2:15 pm

Australian Association of Special Education, Victorian Chapter
Submission 12
Ms Felicity Bellingham
Ms Helen Hatherly

pdfTranscript132.50 KB

docxTranscript (Word)50.83 KB

2:55 pm

I am Ready partnership
Submission 6
Attachment 1
Ms Wendy Major
Executive Officer, South Gippsland Bass Coast LLEN
Ms Jenni Graham
I Am Ready Coordinator, South Gippsland Bass Coast LLEN and Baw Baw Latrobe LLEN
Ms Rachael Murphy
I Am Ready Coordinator, Gippsland East LLEN

pdfTranscript138.34 KB

docxTranscript (Word)53.71 KB

Last Updated on Monday, 16 August 2021