Inquiry into the Increase in Victoria’s Road Toll

Hearings and Transcripts

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available.

Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee.

Wednesday 23 September 2020

Live broadcast of the hearing can be viewed here

Time Witnesses Transcript
4.00 pm 
Vision Zero Academy, Swedish Transport Administration
Dr. Matts-Åke Belin, Director
4.45 pm
Malin Ekholm, Head, Volvo Cars Safety Centre, Sweden
5.30 pm 
Norwegian Public Roads Administration, Transport and Society
Arild Engebretsen
6.15 pm
Head of Road User Safety Delivery Programme, Department for Transport - UK
Pauline Morgan


Tuesday 8 September 2020

Live broadcast of the hearing can be viewed here

Time Witnesses Submission Transcript
9.30 am
Mornington Peninsula Shire
John Baker, Chief Executive Officer
Tom Haines-Sutherland, Team Leader Traffic and Transport
Davey Smith, Executive Manager, Infrastructure Strategy and Climate Change



pdfTranscript135.69 KB 
10.00 am Cate Hughes 140 pdfTranscript214.31 KB
11.15 am
Victoria Walks
Dr Ben Rossiter, Executive Officer
Duane Burtt, Principal Policy Advisor



pdfTranscript204.92 KB 
11.45 am
Walk on Moreland
Dr Andrea Bunting, Convenor
Carmel Boyce, Social Planner
Streets Alive Yarra
Dr Jeremy Lawrence, Founder and Director




pdfTranscript200.76 KB
12.15 pm
Amy Gillett Foundation
Dan Kneipp, Chief Executive Officer
Dr Marilyn Johnson, Research and Policy Manager

pdfTranscript200.68 KB

pdfResponses to questions216.88 KB

1.45 pm Andrew O'Brien pdfTranscript220.26 KB 




Monday 10 August 2020

Time Witnesses Submission Transcript
10.00 am David Anderson
Eric Howard
45  pdfTranscript211.47 KB
10.45 am Damien Codognotto OAM 141
 pdfTranscript168.82 KB
11.45 am Robert Morgan 101

 pdfTranscript147.44 KB

pdfResponses to questions270.67 KB

pdfSupplementary information (1)4.62 MB

pdfSupplementary information (2)6.70 MB

pdfPresentation2.08 MB

12.30 pm Robert Barnard 92

 pdfTranscript177.80 KB

2.00 pm Royal Australasian College of Surgeons
Dr John Crozier
Mr Christian Kenfield
17  pdfTranscript195.70 KB
2.45 pm Rail Freight Alliance
Reid Mather, Chief Executive Officer
15  pdfTranscript169.29 KB


Tuesday 21 July 2020

Time Witnesses Submission Transcript
9.30 am Australian Driver Training Association
Stan Gates, President
Rhonda Armour, Secretary
19 pdfTranscript127.28 KB
10.00 am Driveschool Enterprises
Lisa Skaife, Founder and CEO
61 pdfTranscript200.24 KB
10.30 am Darebin Information, Volunteer and Resource Service
Julie-Anne O’Brien, TAC L2P Coordinator
 80 pdfTranscript191.62 KB
11.15 am Troy Parsons
73 pdfTranscript218.42 KB 
12.00 pm Peter Cox 37 pdfTranscript204.50 KB
1.45 pm Federal Chamber of Automotive Industries
Rob Langridge, Director Emerging Technologies

pdfTranscript247.20 KB 

pdfResponse to question457.77 KB

pdfResponse to question65.06 KB

2.45 pm City of Melbourne
Richard Smithers, Team Leader, Transport Planning, Urban Strategy Branch
72 pdfTranscript200.06 KB


Tuesday 7 July 2020

Time Witnesses Submission Transcript
9.30 am RACV
Peter Kartsidimas, Senior Manager Transport, Planning and Infrastructure
Elvira Lazar, Senior Policy Advisor – Safety

pdfTranscript168.4 KB

10.30 am Victorian Motorcycle Council
Peter Baulch, Chair
Rob Salvatore, Vice-Chair

pdfTranscript212.75 KB

pdfResponse to question on notice55.65 KB

11.15 am Victorian Transport Association
Mr Peter Anderson, Chief Executive Officer
83 pdfTranscript201.80 KB
11.45 am Victorian State Trauma Outcomes Registry Monitoring Group
Dr Ben Beck, Head of Sustainable Mobility and Safety Research
Professor Belinda Gabbe, Head Prehospital, Emergency and Trauma Research
52 pdfTranscript203.70 KB
12.30 pm Maurice Blackburn
Janine Gregory, Principal Lawyer and Divisional Head of Personal Injury
Canda Glanville, Principal Lawyer in Road and Work Injuries Division
Katie Minogue, Senior Associate in Road and Work Injuries Division

pdfTranscript204.20 KB

pdfResponses to questions on notice370.09 KB

pdfSupplementary information381.60 KB

2.00 pm Monash Accident Research Centre
Associate Professor Stuart Newstead
Professor Brian Fildes
Associate Professor Sharon Newnam
Dr David Logan
Dr Karen Stephan
Professor Max Cameron

pdfTranscript233.37 KB

pdfPresentation880.65 KB

2.45 pm Road Trauma Support Services
Bernadette Nugent
Karen Robinson
41 pdfTranscript194.08 KB




Last Updated on Monday, 28 September 2020