Inquiry into the Closure of the Hazelwood and Yallourn Power Stations

Hearings and Transcripts

Wednesday 16 March 2022
Via Zoom

Time Witness Transcripts
9.30am Hydraulic and Pneumatic Pty Ltd
Peter Montgomery, Managing Director
pdfTranscript157.64 KB
10:15am Gippsland Circular Economy Precinct
Scott McArdle, CEO and Executive Director

pdfTranscript228.39 KB

pdfPresentation970.82 KB


Department of Jobs, Precincts and Regions
Beth Jones, Chief Executive Officer, Regional Development Victoria; and Deputy Secretary of Rural and Regional Victoria
Jane Burton, Executive Director, Earth Resources Policy and Programs, Forestry, Resources and Climate Change
Anthony Hurst, Executive Director. Earth Resources Regulation

Mine Land Rehabilitation Authority
Rae Mackay, Chair of the Board

pdfTranscript264.85 KB


pdfResponses to questions_DJPR157.58 KB




pdfMLRA Presentation1.88 MB

2:00pm Food and Fibre Gippsland
Nicola Pero, Chief Executive Officer
pdfTranscript237.32 KB


Thursday 3 March 2022
Grand Promenade, Century Inn, 5 Airfield Rd, Traralgon VIC 3844

Time Witness Transcripts
9.00am Energy Australia
Liz Westcott, Chief Operating Officer
Lisa Gooding, Yallourn Transition Leader
pdfTranscript156.38 KB

Augustin Honorat, Chief Executive Officer
Jamie Lowe, Head of Regulation 

pdfTranscript316.58 KB
10:30am AGL Loy Yang
Christo van Niekerk, General Manager
Steve Rieniets, Group General Manager Operations, Integrated Energy

pdfTranscript307.94 KB

pdfPresentation2.77 MB


Wednesday 2 March 2022
Grand Promenade, Century Inn, 5 Airfield Rd, Traralgon VIC 3844

Time Witness Transcripts

Latrobe Valley Authority 
Chris Buckingham, Chief Executive Officer

Regional Development Victoria Gippsland
Sarah Rhodes-Ward, Regional Director, Gippsland

pdfTranscript186.16 KB

pdfResponse to QON140.45 KB



10:00am Gippsland Trades and Labour Council
Steve Dodd, Secretary
pdfTranscript322.91 KB

(a project partner of the Hydrogen Energy Supply Chain)
Jeremy Stone, Non-Executive Director

pdfTranscript321.84 KB

pdfPresentation3.78 MB

11.45am Jane Sultana pdfTranscript482.69 KB
12:30pm Committee for Gippsland
Tony Cantwell, Chief Executive Officer
pdfTranscript326.81 KB
2:15pm Star of the South
Erin Coldham, Chief Development Officer
pdfTranscript330.64 KB
3:00pm Federation University
Carolyn Chong, Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Global and Engagement)
Professor Thomas Baumgartl, Director, Future Regions Research Centre
Professor Andrew O’Loughlin, Professor, Management, Federation Business School
Darren Brown, Senior Adviser, Government Relations
pdfTranscript524.79 KB


Wednesday, 16 February 2022
via Zoom

Time Witness Transcripts

Victorian Trades Hall Council
Dr Colin Long, Just Transitions Organiser

Danae Bosler, VTHC Chief of Staff
pdfTranscript162.41 KB
10:15am Amogh Ananth

pdfTranscript141.29 KB

pdfResponses to questions164.83 KB 

11:30am Anthony Wasiukiewicz

pdfTranscript254.51 KB

pdfResponses to questions169.09 KB
12:15pm Australian Carbon Innovation
Brian Davey, Chief Executive Officer
Gerry Morvell, Chairman

pdfTranscript233.03 KB

pdfResponses to questions172.85 KB

2:00pm Marinus Link
Bess Clark, Chief Executive Officer
Benjamin White, Executive Director of Stakeholder, Land and Environment

pdfTranscript247.72 KB

pdfPresentation3.01 MB

pdfResponses to questions148.42 KB

2:45pm Beyond Zero Emissions
Tom Quinn, Head of Policy and Research

pdfTranscript233.17 KB

pdfResponses to questions970.04 KB

pdfResponses to questions798.25 KB


Wednesday, 24 November 2021
Grand Promenade, Century Inn, 5 Airfield Rd, Traralgon VIC 3844

Time Witness Transcripts
9:00 am Latrobe City Council
Steven Piasente, Chief Executive Officer

pdfTranscript241.71 KB

pdfResponse to QON157.43 KB

pdfResponse to QON93.00 KB

pdfResponse to QON80.79 KB

9:45 am

Voices of the Valley
Wendy Farmer, President

Marianne Robinson, Secretary
pdfTranscript234.53 KB
11:00 am Great Latrobe Park Group
Nina Burke, President 
David Langmore, Vice President

pdfTranscript233.77 KB

pdfResponse to QON558.32 KB


11:45 am Latrobe Valley Sustainability Group
Dan Caffrey, President
Lorraine Bull
pdfTranscript214.25 KB
1:30 pm CFMMEU Mining and Energy Division
Geoff Dyke, Victorian District Secretary
Mark Richards, Victorian District Vice President
pdfTranscript243.99 KB
2:15 pm Barry Dungey pdfTranscript151.73 KB
Last Updated on Tuesday, 07 June 2022