Inquiry into Apartment Design Standards

Hearings and Transcripts

There are no further public hearings planned for this Inquiry. Corrected transcripts of the hearings will be published here when finalised by the Committee.

Past hearings

Wednesday 16 February 2022
9:30am - 4:00pm

Time Witness Transcripts

Infrastructure Victoria
Dr Jonathan Spear, Acting Chief Executive Officer
Dr Kath Phelan, Principal Planner
Mr Peter Kartsidimas, Director, Networks and Planning

pdfTranscript157.95 KB
10:15am Victorian Planning Authority
Ms Rachel Dapiran, Executive Director, Infrastructure, Strategy and Planning
Ms Goksel Karpat, Urban Design Advisor
pdfTranscript151.65 KB
11:00am Break
11:15am Victorian Building Authority
Dr Todd Bentley, Chief Risk Officer
Ms Shobini Mahendra, Chief Analyst, Research and Review
Mr Matthew Waters, Senior Manager, Technical and Regulation
pdfTranscript130.03 KB

Australian Institute of Architects
Mr Paul Zanatta, National Advocacy and Policy Manager
Mr Tim Leslie, Victorian State Manager
Mr Bill Krotiris, Victorian President, Australian Institute of Architects, Principal, John Wardle Architects
Ms Sarah Buckeridge, Co-managing Director, Hayball
Mr James Legge, Director, Six Degrees Architects

pdfTranscript174.51 KB
12:45pm Lunch break  
2:00pm Office of the Victorian Government Architect
Mr David Islip, Principal Adviser, Urban Design and Architecture
pdfTranscript161.09 KB
2:45pm Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning (DELWP)
Mr Julian Lyngcoln, Deputy Secretary, Planning
Mr Andrew Grear, Executive Director, Planning Implementation and Heritage
Dr Trevor Pisciotta, Executive Director, Building
Ms Amy Mak, Manager Future Homes
pdfTranscript177.09 KB


Tuesday 15 February 2022
9:30am - 4:45pm

Time Witness Transcripts

Municipal Association of Victoria
Mr James McLean, Senior Policy Adviser, Natural and Built Environment

CASBE (Council Alliance for Sustainable Built Environment)
Ms Natasha Palich, Executive Officer

pdfTranscript157.13 KB
10:30am Break  

City of Melbourne
Ms Bronwen Hamilton, Design Manager and Principal Urban Designer
Ms Lavanya Arulanandam, Senior Urban Designer

City of Yarra
Ms Amy Hodgen, Senior Coordinator, Statutory Planning

City of Darebin
Ms Rachel Ollivier, General Manager, City Sustainability and Strategy
Mr Munir Vahanvati, City Designer, City Development, City of Darebin

City of Moreland
Ms Karen Bayly, Principal Strategic Planner

pdfTranscript215.71 KB
12:30pm Lunch break  
1:30pm Housing Industry Association (HIA)
Mr Roger Cooper, Senior Planning Adviser
Mr Mike Hermon, Executive Director, Planning and Development
pdfTranscript160.54 KB
2:15pm Property Council of Australia
Ms Danni Hunter, Victorian Executive Director
Mr Andrew Lowcock, Victorian Policy Manager
Mr Daniel Dugina, General Manager Operations, Apartments, Development, Lendlease
pdfTranscript143.89 KB
3:00pm Break  

Urban Development Institute of Australia (UDIA)
(Victoria Division)

Mr Matthew Kandelaars, Chief Executive Officer
Dr Caroline Speed, Director of Policy and Research
Mr Ashley Williams, Board Member

pdfTranscript152.13 KB
4:00pm Engineers Australia
Ms Alesha Printz, General Manager, Victorian Division,
Mr Baoying Tong, Senior Manager, Building Reform and Projects
Mr Adam Lee, Project Manager, Building Reform and Projects
pdfTranscript133.98 KB


Wednesday 24 November 2021
10:00am - 4:30pm

Time Witness Transcripts

Australian Housing and Urban Research Institute (AHURI)
Dr Tom Alves, Head of Development

pdfTranscript161.08 KB
11:00am Ignite
Ms Arianna Garay, Research Member
Mr Derek Huynh, Research Member
Ms Divya Sri Sunkara, Research Member
pdfTranscript174.42 KB

Faculty of Architecture, Building, and Planning, University of Melbourne
Dr Paulo Vaz Serra
Mr Steven Richardson
Dr Andrew Martel

pdfTranscript176.96 KB
1:00pm Lunch break  
2:00pm Project HOME, Centre for Urban Research, School of Global, Urban and Social Studies, RMIT University
Professor Ralph Horne
Dr Andrew Martel
Dr Louise Dorignon
Dr Nicola Willand
Dr Megan Nethercote
pdfTranscript175.39 KB
3:00pm Break  

Darebin Appropriate Development Association
Ms Maria Poletti, President
Mr Chris Erlandsen, Vice-President,

Whitehorse Ratepayers and Residents Association
Ms Tanya Tescher, President

pdfTranscript136.69 KB
Last Updated on Wednesday, 23 March 2022