Inquiry into Ecosystem Decline in Victoria

Hearings and Transcripts

Information on the Committee's public hearing schedule for this inquiry will be posted here as it becomes available.

Corrected transcripts of these hearings will also be published here when finalised by the Committee.

Upcoming Hearings:
Wednesday, 10 March 2021
Link to broadcast
Time Witness Transcript
9.45am VicForests
Monique Dawson, Chief Executive Officer
Deon Kriek, General Manager Operations
Bill Paul, Manager Environmental Performance
10.30am Office of the Conservation Regulator
Kate Gavens, Chief Conservation Regulator
Ashley Bunce, Director of Regulatory Operations
11.15am Australian Forest Products Association
Victor Violante, Deputy Chief Executive Officer
Boris Iskra, National Codes and Standards Manager
1.00pm Institute of Foresters of Australia and Forest Growers
Dr Michelle Freeman, Vice President
Jacqui Martin, Chief Executive Officer 
Owen Bassatt, Forest Silvaculture Consultant
1.45pm Professor David Lindenmayer AO
Fenner School of Environment and Society, The Australian National University
2.30pm Friends of the Leadbeater's Possum
Steve Meacher, President


Thursday, 11 March 2021
Link to broadcast
Time Witness Transcript
9.00am Dr Holly Sitters, University of Melbourne  
9.45am Country Fire Authority (CFA)
Daniel Idczak, Vegetation Management Team Leader
Dale Tonkinson, Biodiversity Advisor
Michael Sherwen, Cultural Heritage Advisor
10.45am Environmental Justice Australia
Dr Bruce Lindsay, Senior Lawyer
11.30am The Wilderness Society
Richard Hughes, Victorian Campaigns Manager
Annie McCallum, Leader, Wilderness Society Mornington Group
Jodie Gregson, Co-leader, Westside Wilderness Society Group
1.00pm Victorian Wildlife Shelters Coalition
Tina Lawrence, Co-founder
1.45pm Regional Victorians Opposed to Duck Shooting  
2.30pm RSPCA Victoria 
Rebecca Cook, Head of Prevention
Mhairi Roberts, Policy and Advocacy Manager


Past Hearings: 
Thursday, 3 December 2020
Via Zoom
Time Witness Transcript
10.30am Office of the Commissioner for Environmental Sustainability
Dr Gillian Sparkes, Commissioner
Dr Scott Rawlings, Director of Science and Reporting
pdfTranscript216.57 KB
pdfResponses to QON90.88 KB
11.30am Department of Environment, Land, Water and Planning
Hamish Webb, Director - Knowledge and Planning
James Todd, Executive Director - Biodiversity Division
Kylie White, Deputy Secretary - Environment and Climate Change

Parks Victoria
Dr Mark Norman, Chief Conservation Scientist 
 pdfTranscript384.48 KB
2.00pm Zoos Victoria
Dr Jenny Gray, Chief Executive Officer
  pdfTranscript222.24 KB


Tuesday, 23 February 2021
Meeting Rooms G.1 & G.2, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via Zoom
Time Witness Transcript

Wildlife Victoria
Lisa Palma, Chief Executive Officer


Threatened Species Conservancy
Anna Murphy, Director and Head of Flora Ecology


Australian Wildlife Society
Patrick Medway AM, Honorary Secretary, Chief Executive Officer and Treasurer


Dr Kylie Cairns, Centre for Ecosystem Science, School of Biological, Earth and Environmental Sciences, UNSW


Animalia Wildlife Shelter and Rescue
Michelle Thomas, President and Shelter Director
Steven Kuiter, Wildlife Rescuer, Surveyor and Photographer


Australian Wildlife Protection Council
Peter Hylands, President


University of Melbourne
Brendan Wintle, Professor of Conservation Ecology



Wednesday, 24 February 2021
Meeting Rooms G.1 & G.2, 55 St Andrews Place, East Melbourne and via Zoom
Time Witness Transcript


Invasive Species Council
Mr Andrew Cox, Chief Executive Officer



Australian Deer Association
Mr Barry Howlett, Executive Officer



Australian Brumby Alliance
Ms Jill Pickering, President
Ms Ginny Imhoff, Field Officer



Ecological Consultants Association of Victoria
Ms Fiona Sutton, President
Yasmin Kelsall
Dr Melanie Birtchnell



Association for Conservation of Australian Dingoes
Dr Ernest Healy, Secretary

Last Updated on Thursday, 04 March 2021