Inquiry into extremism in Victoria

Hearings and Transcripts

Wednesday, 8 June 2022
via Zoom
Time Witness Transcript


Addressing Violent Extremism and Radicalisation to Terrorism (AVERT) Research Network

pdfTranscript1.08 MB


Centre for Inclusive and Resilient Societies (CRIS)

pdfTranscript1.72 MB


Tuesday, 14 June 2022
via Zoom
Time Witness Transcript
11.15am Liberty Victoria
Michael Stanton, President

pdfTranscript154.35 KB

pdfResponses to questions213.00 KB

12.00pm Nick McKenzie,
Journalist, The Age
pdfTranscript229.17 KB
1.15pm Online Hate Prevention Institute
Dr Andre Oboler, Chief Executive Officer and Managing Director
Dr Nasya Bahfen, Director

Jewish Community Council of Victoria 
Naomi Levin, Chief Operating Officer
Daniel Aghion, President

Executive Council of Australia Jewry
Julie Nathan, Research Director

pdfTranscript257.08 KB

pdfPresentation869.84 KB

2:15pm Applied Security Science Partnership, Victoria University
Professor Debra Smith
Dr Muhammad Iqbal
Dr Andrew Zammit

Board of Imams Victoria
Sheikh Moustapha Sarakibi
pdfTranscript225.88 KB
3.15pm Threats to Australian Domestic Security, Charles Sturt University

Dr Kristy Campion
Dr Levi West
Dr Ruth Delaforce
Dr Emma Colvin
Mr Douglas Allan
Professor Mark Nolan

pdfTranscript154.74 KB

pdfPresentation3.01 MB


Wednesday, 15 June 2022
via Zoom
 Time Witness Transcript
 9.30am Margot Spalding

pdfTranscript166.19 KB

pdfResponses to questions703.42 KB

 10.15am Australia/Israel & Jewish Affairs Council

Dr Colin Rubenstein, Executive Director
Jeremy Jones, Director of International and Community Affairs

pdfTranscript163.19 KB
 11.15am Associate Professor Christine Agius and Dr Belinda Barnet
Swinburne University
pdfTranscript230.09 KB

Research group on international law and populism
Dr Richard Joyce, Faculty of Law, Monash University
Professor Sundhya Pahuja, Melbourne Law School
Professor James Martel, Department of Political Science, San Francisco State University
Ms Elisabeth Lopez, Faculty of Law, Monash University

pdfTranscript233.88 KB
 1:30pm Victoria Police
Assistant Commissioner Michael Hermans
pdfTranscript673.55 KB

Multicultural Youth Advocacy Network Australia (MYAN)
Rana Ebrahimi, National Manager

Centre for Multicultural Youth (CMY)
Soo-Lin Quek, Executive Manager Knowledge, Advocacy & Service Innovation, Knowledge & Advocacy

pdfTranscript246.97 KB



Last Updated on Wednesday, 10 August 2022