Inquiry into Victoria’s Audit Act 1994

Hearings and Transcripts

Public hearings into the Inquiry into the Audit Act 1994 were held on Wednesday 7 April 2010, Thursday 29 April 2010 and Monday 10 May 2010.  Links to transcripts are provided below.

Please contact the Committee Secretariat on 8682 2793 or email the secretariat with any queries (email:

Wednesday 7 April 2010

9.30am - 11.30am
Witnesses - Victorian Auditor-General's Office: Mr Des Pearson, Auditor?General; Dr Peter Frost, Chief Operating Officer; Mr Marco Bini, Director, Policy and Coordination
Transcripts:  pdf VAGO 162.19 Kb

11.30am - 1.00pm
Witnesses - Department of Treasury and Finance/Department of Premier and Cabinet: Mr Grant Hehir, Secretary, Department of Treasury and Finance (DTF/DPC); Mr Steve Mitsas, Director, Budget and Financial Management (DTF); Mr Philip Reed Deputy Secretary, Government and Corporate (DPC)
Transcripts:  pdf DTF/DPC 109.22 Kb

2.00pm - 2.45pm
Witnesses - Department of Transport: Mr Jim Betts, Secretary; James Lavery Executive Director ? Legal; Dr Len Gainsford Director, Audit and Assurance
Transcripts:  pdf Transport 69.34 Kb

2.45pm - 3.30pm
Witnesses - Public Sector Standards Commissioner: Mr Peter Allen, Public Sector Standards Commissioner; Ms Karen Cleave Chief Executive Officer, State Services Authority
Transcripts:  pdf PSSC 61.92 Kb

3.30pm - 5.00pm
Witness - Australian Council of Auditors-General:
Mr Mike Blake (Auditor?General, Tasmania) Australasian Council of Auditors?General (ACAG) ? phone conference
Transcripts:  pdf ACAG 78.67 Kb

Thursday 29 April 2010

9.30am - 11.00am
Witnesses - CPA Australia/Institute of Chartered Accountants of Australia/National Institute of Accountants:
Dr Gary Pflugrath CPA, Policy Adviser, Audit and Assurance, Professional Standards (CPA Australia); Mr Andrew Stringer, Head of Audit (Institute of Chartered Accountants); National Insitute of Accountants
Transcripts: pdf CPA/ICAA/NIA 77.34 Kb

11.00am - 11.30pm
Witnesses - Department of Innovation, Industry & Regional Development:
Mr Alf Smith, Acting Secretary; Mr Rob Barr, Deputy Secretary, Corporate Services & Development; Ms Rosemary Martin, Director Legal, Audit and Risk; Mr Dan Kirtley, Chief Internal Auditor
Transcripts:  pdf DIIRD 72.06 Kb

11.30am - 12.30pm
Witness - Australian National University:
Professor Kerry Jacobs via phone conference
Transcripts:  pdf ANU 49.51 Kb

Monday 10 May 2010

12.15pm - 12.45pm
Witnesses: Hon Jenny Lindell MP (Speaker of the Legislative Assembly), Hon Robert Smith MLC (President of the Legislative Council),  Mr Ray Purdey (Clerk of the Legislative Assembly), Mr Wayne Tunnecliffe (Clerk of the Legislative Council), Mr Peter Lochert (Secretary, Department of Parliamentary Services)
Transcripts:  pdf Presiding Officers 52.69 Kb

Last Updated on Friday, 04 November 2011