About Parliament

The Parliament of Victoria is a bicameral legislature (two Houses) with representatives elected to either the Legislative Council (the Upper House) or the Legislative Assembly (the Lower House). The Assembly has 88 Members and the Council has 40 Members. The Governor of Victoria represents the Crown and is the third arm of Parliament.

Following the Westminster tradition, the party having the support of the majority of Members in the Lower House has the right to form Government. The Government is then answerable to Parliament. This is called ‘responsible government’ because the Government is responsible to Parliament and must present its policies for parliamentary scrutiny.

In this section, you can find further information about the parliamentary system and how a law is made, as well as how parliament works as an organisation.  Information on Parliament House, people in Parliament and some historical information is also included.

You can also read the background to the Women's Suffrage Petition (1891) or search the database of signatories to this petition.