Graduation for parliamentary interns

Interns 1

Thirty-three students have graduated from the 2015 Victorian parliamentary internship program.

Speaker of the Legislative Assembly, Telmo Languiller, and President of the Legislative Council, Bruce Atkinson, presented the students from Melbourne, Monash and Victoria universities with their graduation certificates at a ceremony at Parliament House on Friday, 28 August 2015.

They also awarded the Presiding Officers Prize for most outstanding intern to Ellie Wyatt, from Monash University, for her research paper on a range of approaches to mental health in the Macedon area.

The internship program, coordinated by the Victorian Parliamentary Library & Information Service, sees students undertake a detailed research assignment in consultation with MPs.

Award winner Ellie Wyatt worked with Mary-Anne Thomas, the Member for Macedon in the Legislative Assembly.

The research papers prepared by this year’s parliamentary interns covered a diverse range of topics, including social isolation among older people; GST distribution in Australia; plantation estates; government funding of ethic community organisations; public open spaces; drug reform; transport systems; and the gender wealth gap.

Interns 2

Harvey Duckett (above) and Andrea Morris-Meloni (below) receive their graduation certificates from the Presiding Officers.

Interns 3

The internship program is celebrating its 25th anniversary in 2015.

More than 1,000 students have participated in the program during that time, including Premier Daniel Andrews, who will launch a commemorative book about the program at a special anniversary celebration on 15 September.

More information on the program is available from the parliamentary internship webpage.

Interns 4

Parliamentary interns graduating class of 2015

See more news from the Parliament of Victoria