Worst of nature, best of humanity

MPs have joined together to offer condolences

MPs have joined together to offer condolences to all the people affected by the recent bushfires.

Moving tributes have been made in the Legislative Assembly and Legislative Council to those who lost their lives, to those who suffered devastating losses and to those who worked tirelessly to save life and property.

“To every family in every state touched by these terrible fires, we extend our deepest condolences,” Premier Daniel Andrews said.

“There are no words that will ever be enough, but please know that we mourn with you, we grieve with you and we will not forget those who have been lost. Today and together, we pause to reflect on the enormity of that loss, to stand with those families in those communities left in its wake and to offer our thanks to the men and women who put their safety on the line to protect our state.” he said.

“Just as we experienced the very worst in nature, with it we have seen the very best in our humanity.”

Leader of the Opposition Michael O’Brien said the scale of the bushfires this summer was difficult to comprehend.

“These have been devastating bushfires, but through that devastation we have seen examples of why this is such a great state. It is not just a great state because of its physical beauty; it is a great state because of the content of the character of its people. For that, we thank you. To those we lost, we mourn you,” he said.

In the many speeches in both houses, MPs also spoke about the devastating loss of wildlife and the recovery efforts in support of communities affected by the bushfires.

The day before the condolences, MPs joined community representatives and emergency services personnel on the front steps of Parliament House for a multifaith gathering for the people who lost their lives and for the devastation of land, property and wildlife caused by the recent bushfires.

The condolence speeches can be read in Hansard for Wednesday 5 February 2020.





See more news from the Parliament of Victoria